Alpha Chi Honor Society Students Named at RSU

Rogers State University’s chapter of the Alpha Chi honor society recently selected 28 students for membership in the organization. New student members to the Oklahoma Iota chapter were honored at a Nov. 15, 2007 induction ceremony.

Membership in Alpha Chi, which is a national academic honor society open to all disciplines, is limited to the top 10 percent of an institution’s juniors and seniors and is by invitation only. The society was founded in 1922 and has more than 300 chapters. RSU’s chapter was added in Spring of 2006.

“It is always a real pleasure to recognize the university’s most outstanding students. As RSU continues to grow, the quality of our brightest students becomes even more impressive,” said Dr. Jim Ford, director of RSU Honors Program and Alpha Chi advisor.

The new Alpha Chi members major in a wide range of subjects and have diverse personal backgrounds, and intellectual experiences, Ford said.

Students recently selected for Alpha Chi, listed by hometown, include:

  • Advance, Mo.: Marty Barry
  • Bartlesville: Christine Kendrick, Deanna Moore, Petrona Moran, Tracey L. Passmore
  • Bristow: Amanda L. Anderson
  • Broken Arrow: Jon M. Daniels, Theresa Lillegard
  • Catoosa: Sandra McClure
  • Claremore: Garry Lee Flatt, Elizabeth Gordon, Kathleen King, Matthew York
  • Chelsea: Jonathan Thompson
  • Chouteau: Donna Spencer
  • Collinsville: Eric Loggin
  • Guthrie: Kelly A. Eakins
  • Hominy: Rebecca Ann Reed
  • Inola: Jennie E. Smith
  • Oologah: Whitney M. Robinson, Jennifer White
  • Owasso: Megan L. Pruitt
  • Peggs: Nathan Tully
  • Skiatook: Jeana DeShazer, Tracy Holliday
  • Stillwell: Diamond J. Quinton
  • Tahlequah: Jennifer Moses
  • Tulsa: Timothy L. Brown