RSU to Present Constitution Award to Judge Stephanie Seymour Sept. 28

The Honorable Stephanie K. Seymour, Senior Judge on the United States Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit, will be named the recipient of the Rogers State University Constitution Award at a ceremony and luncheon on Tuesday, Sept. 28.

The ceremony and luncheon will be held at 12 noon in the Ballroom of the Centennial Center on the RSU campus in Claremore.

Each fall since 1987, RSU has presented the Constitution Award to an Oklahoman who has demonstrated a strong commitment to the principles of the U.S. Constitution through his or her life’s work. The RSU Constitution Award was established in commemoration of the 200th anniversary of the adoption of the U.S. Constitution.

“We are proud and honored to present the Honorable Stephanie K. Seymour with this distinguished award during our 100th anniversary,” said RSU President Dr. Larry Rice. “As a lifelong public servant, she has diligently guarded the principles of the U.S. Constitution and has advanced the well-being of the state of Oklahoma and our nation through her service in the judiciary.”

Past recipients of the RSU Constitution Award include Chief Judge Robert Henry, Gov. Frank Keating, Judge Lee R. West, U.S. Rep. Lyle Boren, Judge Fred Daugherty, Chief Ross Swimmer, U.S. Speaker Carl Albert, Judge William J. Holloway, Jr., Jenkin Lloyd Jones, Gov. Henry Bellmon, Ada Lois Sipuel Fisher, Mayor Patience Latting, Justice Marian P. Opala, Sen. David Boren, Hannah Diggs Atkins, Joint Chiefs Chairman William J. Crowe, Jr., Judge James O. Ellison, Alex Adwan, Judge Thomas R. Brett, G.T. Blankenship, Sen. Charles Ford, Sen. Penny Williams, Sen. Anthony Massad and Gov. George Nigh.

The Honorable Stephanie K. Seymour is a Senior Judge on the United States Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit. She was nominated to the Tenth Circuit by President Jimmy Carter in 1979 and became its first female judge when confirmed by the Senate. Seymour also was the first woman to sit as the court’s chief judge, serving in that capacity from 1994 to 2000.

Judge Seymour received a bachelor’s degree from Smith College in 1962 and a J.D. from Harvard Law School in 1965. Prior to joining the federal bench, she was in private practice for 15 years in Boston, Houston, and Tulsa.

The Judge currently serves on the Oklahoma State-Federal-Tribal Council and the Oklahoma City University School of Law Executive Board. Throughout her career she has volunteered with many efforts to advance women, legal education, and Indian law.

She has received myriad honors including the Smith College Medal from her alma mater in 2010, the Sarah T. Hughes Civil Rights Award from the Federal Bar Association in 2007, the Lion of the Bar Award from the American Inns of Court Council Oaks Chapter in Tulsa in 2006, and the President’s Award from the Tulsa County Bar Association in 1998. In 2005, she was inducted into the Oklahoma Women’s Hall of Fame.

The first Constitution Award event at RSU included a panel discussion of the Constitution featuring noted lawmakers from across the state, and the presentation of the first award to former Congressman Lyle Boren.

In addition to past recipients of the Constitution Award, the Board of Governors includes Mitch Adwon, Jan Miller, James Morrison and RSU President Dr. Larry Rice.

For more information on the RSU Constitution Award and Luncheon, contact the RSU Foundation at (918) 343-6816.