RSU Communications Major Wins OETA Broadcasting Scholarship Award


Rogers State University communications major Skylar Scott has been named a recipient of the William “Bill” Thrash and Gene Dillehay Oklahoma Educational Television Authority (OETA) Scholarship Award.

Scott, a sophomore from Collinsville, was bestowed the award during the 2023 Oklahoma Broadcast Education Association’s annual Student Day, held Oct. 4 at the OETA studios in Oklahoma City.

Each year, the RSU Department of Communications brings a group of students to the event, at which they hear from broadcast industry practitioners from across the state of Oklahoma.

“It’s such a privilege to have gotten this award, this scholarship – it’s very exciting,” Scott said. “To have been selected out of our whole communications department and to be one of only five scholarship recipients in the state is a tremendous honor.”

Scott is scheduled to finish earning her bachelor’s degree in 2026, after which she hopes to further her education with a master’s degree, a goal she said has been “greatly helped” by being named a scholarship recipient.

“My dream job would be doing production work and eventually, teaching. I’d love to become a professor of communications someday,” she said.

Tip Crowley, RSU Radio General Manager and assistant professor of communications, said Scott’s win serves as a reminder of the caliber of students in the communications program and at RSU in general.

“This award is something we’ve had students win in the past and it’s always exciting for us and for them to be recognized on the state level,” Crowley said. “I think it shows the quality of our communications program, the effort and creativity of our students, as well as the bright future they have.

“This is a scholarship that looks to keep broadcast talent here in Oklahoma and to encourage students interested in broadcasting,” he continued. “It’s always been the goal of the RSU Communications Department to help connect students with the broadcasting industry and this is just another great way that we’re able to do that.”

The scholarships, given annually to Oklahoma broadcasting students, are named for OETA’s longtime station manager, Bill Thrash, who passed in 2013, and Gene Dillehay, the voice of OETA for 18 years.

RSU’s Department of Communications offers the Bachelor of Arts in communications with emphases available in broadcasting and new media, communication arts, and strategic communications.

For more information about RSU’s Department of Communications, visit