Sigma Beta Delta International Business Honor Society Inducts 43 RSU Students

The Rogers State University chapter of the Sigma Beta Delta International Business Honor Society inducted 43 students during a ceremony this week.

The Rogers State University Chapter, formally installed on Oct. 10, inducted its inaugural group of charter members during a Nov. 29 ceremony at the Claremore campus.

To qualify to join Sigma Beta Delta, RSU students working toward a bachelor’s degree in the School of Business and Technology must rank in the upper 20 percent of their class.

“We are delighted to bring the Sigma Beta Delta International Honor Society to RSU and to honor our outstanding business and technology students,” said Dr. Mary Rose Hart, president and faculty advisor of the RSU chapter.

Nationwide, while almost 300,000 students receive bachelors or master’s degrees in business each year, only about 4,000 are inducted into lifetime memberships in Sigma Beta Delta.

“The society allows us encourage and recognize scholarships and accomplishments among students in the school of business, and to encourage and promote aspirations toward personal and professional improvements and a life distinguished by honorable service to humankind,” said Dr. Bruce Garrison, dean of the RSU School of Business and Technology.

Approximately 10 years ago, Sigma Beta Delta was created as a business honor society for institutions with regional accreditation. Sigma Beta Delta has now established over 230 chapters in 45 states, with one international institution. Sigma Beta Delta provides an opportunity of RSU faculty to confer international recognition on qualifying students based on their outstanding academic achievements in the School of Business and Technology.

The following RSU students were inducted as members of Sigma Beta Delta: Shannon Adcock, Pryor; Cheryl Bartholomew, Bartlesville; Jacqueline Boes, Owasso; Kendall Brown, Catoosa; Brandy Burkhardt, Claremore; Jeremy Clovard, Pryor; Kevin Cormier, Bartlesville; Dan Cott, Tahlequah; Adam Due, Pryor; Kathryn Dupree, Owasso; Tyana Elrod, Oologah; Robin Follin, Claremore; John Greife, Claremore; Katharine Hahn, Claremore; Joshua Hass, Inola; Leon Hershberger, Tulsa; Christy Hunt, Claremore; Sherri Hunt, Claremore; Jacklyn Jaggars, Vinita; Michelle Jinks, Pryor; Christina Jochmans, Claremore; Ashley Leister, Broken Arrow; Bradley Marshall, Claremore; Sandra McClure, Catoosa; Janet Miller, Owasso; Lindsay Muller, South Coffeyville; Dale Neidig, Bartlesville; Camille Pace, Langley; Natasha Parris, Claremore; Nicholas Pranger, Claremore; Terri Rekieta, Inola; Joshua Rincker, Claremore; Israel Rodriguez, Denville, NJ; John Sanders, Dewey; April Smith, Tulsa; Ashley Smoots, Broken Arrow; Brianna Stimson, Pryor; Claudia Story, Claremore; Jennifer Thornton, Langley; Kimberly Trahan, Claremore; Brandon Vandenameele, Claremore; Crystal Ward, Chouteau; and Ashley Whisenant, Claremore.

For more information on RSU’s chapter of Sigma Beta Delta, contact Dr. Hart at (918) 343-7739.