RSU Students Inducted into Psychology Honor Society

Rogers State University’s chapter of Psi Chi recently inducted 25 students and faculty into the international honor society that promotes excellence and service in the field of psychology.

Psi Chi membership is limited to students with a minimum 3.25 GPA in psychology and related courses and who are in the top 35 percent of the university by rank. Since RSU’s chapter was added in 2003, more than 200 RSU students have been inducted into the society.

RSU students inducted into Psi Chi on April 14, listed alphabetically by hometown, include:

  • Bartlesville: Madison Gaines, Lana Smith, Hailee Sullivan, Catharine Taylor, Leslie Varner
  • Broken Arrow: Meghan Steeber
  • Claremore: Daniel Dake, Victoria Gimino, Katie Greenwell, Ashlyn Karst, Amber Meehan, Danielle Ottinger, Rachel Simmons, Hunter Thompson, Charles Wilson
  • Copan: Kristina Edens
  • Denison, Texas: Rachel Jones
  • Jay: Elisha Enlow
  • Owasso: Cynthia Guillory
  • Prague: Michaela Farrill
  • Pryor: Paul McFarland, Bridget Tipton
  • Salina: Allison Brundage
  • Wagoner: Ashley Morris

RSU faculty member Dr. Sonya Munsell also was inducted during the ceremony.

The organization installed officers for the coming year, including Yaneth Garcia, a junior from Vinita, as president; Hailey Hardesty, a junior from Claremore, as vice president; Dani Ottinger, a junior from Claremore, as secretary; Michaela Farrill, a sophomore from Prague, as treasurer; and Sherrie Sherrick, a junior from Claremore, as Student Government Association representative.

Psi Chi was founded in 1929 to recognize scholastic achievement, and to encourage leadership, research and creativity. It was the first student organization affiliated with the American Psychological Association. The RSU chapter is the first baccalaureate Honor Society established at the university.

For more information about Psi Chi, contact Dr. Kevin Woller at [email protected] or 918-343-7568.