RSU Students Attend Higher Education Day at the State Capitol

  • large group of people in photo

Students and staff from Rogers State University joined representatives from other state system institutions in Oklahoma City this week for Higher Education Day at the Capitol.

Held Thursday, Feb. 8, Higher Education Day at the Capitol is an event organized by Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education to demonstrate the value and importance of the state’s system of higher education to Oklahoma’s current and future workforce development and economic growth.

RSU students in attendance were Gracelyn Dill of Owasso, Aubrey Haught of Altus, Kaylee Blair of Claremore, Connor Tranquill of Florence, South Carolina, Garrett Ringler of Skiatook, Ethan Lester of Claremore, Aidan Williams of Meeker and Corbin Harris of Collinsville.

Over the course of the day, students visited with Oklahoma legislators in their offices to discuss issues important to higher education in general and those specific to RSU, such as the university’s growing nursing and STEM programs, and the university’s seeking state funding to assist with the construction of a new STEM building on campus.

Among legislators who visited in their office with RSU students were Rep. Terry O’Donnel of Catoosa, Sen. Blake Stephens of Tahlequah, Rep. Mark VanCuren of Owasso, and Sen. Ally Seifried of Claremore. Seifried is a Rogers State University alumna, with a degree in Political Science.

In a more informal gathering, Rep. Mark Lepak of Claremore, Rep. John Kane of Bartlesville, Rep. Rusty Cornwall of Vinita, and Ally Seifried met with the students and RSU staff, including RSU President Dr. Larry Rice, for lunch.

Students also had the opportunity to pose for a group photograph with Oklahoma Governor Kevin Stitt, and later, gathered in the House Chamber for a formal program, during which, they heard addresses from the governor, Oklahoma House Speaker Charles McCall and several others.

Rogers State University students attending Higher Education Day demonstrated a deep commitment to their university, their community and investing in their futures and the future of Oklahoma.