RSU Public TV Receives 2012 Governor’s Arts Awards

Rogers State University First Lady Peggy Rice accepted a 2012 Governor’s Arts Award on behalf of RSU Public TV during the 37th Annual Governor’s Arts Awards held Nov. 8 at the state capitol.

The award was presented by Gov. Mary Fallin on behalf of the Oklahoma Arts Council to RSU Public TV for its contributions to arts in Oklahoma. RSU Public TV joined seven other organizations and 11 individuals who were recognized.

RSU President Dr. Larry Rice said, “During the past 25 years, I have witnessed RSU Public Television grow from a nascent idea into a staple for households throughout northeastern Oklahoma. RSU Public TV has proven to be a crucial asset in the university’s outreach efforts to bring educational and cultural opportunities to the community.”

In addition to programs supporting the university’s educational mission, RSU Public TV has been widely acclaimed for carrying high-quality cultural content and award-winning original programming. During the past six years, the station has earned two dozen national and regional awards for its original programs and documentaries.

RSU was presented a “Media in the Arts Award” given to media outlets that demonstrate commitment to the arts in Oklahoma documented through public awareness, support, fairness, initiative, creativity and professionalism in reporting. Also being recognized in the category this year were KOSU Radio in Stillwater and OKIE Magazine in Lawton.

As the only full-powered public television station licensed to a public university in Oklahoma, RSU Public TV provides educational, cultural and general interest programming to an audience of 1.3 million viewers in northeastern Oklahoma, and the Tulsa metropolitan area. RSU Public TV broadcasts via DISH, DirectTV and UHF Channel 35 and is carried on 76 cable systems including Cox Cable Channel 109 (35.1) and 110 (35.2) in Tulsa and Claremore.

The Oklahoma Arts Council is the official state agency for the support and development of the arts in Oklahoma. The Council’s mission is to lead, cultivate and support a thriving arts environment, which is essential to quality of life, education and economic vitality for all Oklahomans.

Oklahoma Arts Council Executive Director Kim Baker said the awards bring recognition to individuals and organizations making a difference in communities throughout the state. Governor’s Arts Awards recipients are selected from submitted nominations by members of the Governor’s Arts Awards Selection Committee.

Other honorees this year included:

The Governor’s Award recognizes longtime leadership and significant contributions to the arts. Honorees were: Dr. Don Betz, Edmond; Christian Keesee, Oklahoma City; and Charles Ward, Tulsa.

The Business in the Arts Award recognizes individuals, businesses and corporations that exhibit outstanding support of the arts in Oklahoma. The honoree was AVB Bank in Broken Arrow.

The Arts in Education Award recognizes an individual, organization, school, educator or group for their outstanding leadership and service in the arts benefitting youth and/or arts in education. Honorees were: Choregus Productions, Tulsa; Firehouse Arts Center, Norman; and Oklahoma City Philharmonic, Oklahoma City.

The Community Service Award recognizes individuals for significant contributions to the arts in specific Oklahoma communities in the areas of leadership and volunteerism. Honorees were: Dr. Bob Palmer, Bethany; Dolores McClure, Enid; Laurie Thompson, Mangum; Mary Bryant, Nancy Harris and Marlene Woods, all of Arnett; and the Philbrook Museum of Art, Tulsa.

George Nigh Public Service in the Arts Award recognizes an Oklahoma government official or entity for outstanding support of the arts. The honoree was Enid Mayor Bill Shewey.

A Special Recognition Award recognizes an individual or organization that has made a unique contribution in support of the arts. The honoree was Mike Larsen, Perkins.

More information about RSU Public TV programming is available at