RSU Professor Named Teacher of the Year by Statewide Association

Dr. Carolyn Taylor holding award with Dr. Wood and Dr. Wohlers

Dr. Carolyn Taylor (center) accepts the award for Teacher of the Year from Dr. John Wood (left) and Dr. Tony Wohlers (right), the vice president and president respectively of the Oklahoma Political Science Association.

Dr. Carolyn Taylor, Distinguished Professor of History and Political Science at Rogers State University, recently was awarded the 2015 Teacher of the Year Award from the Oklahoma Political Science Association.

The Teacher of the Year Award honors Oklahoma teachers in higher education who demonstrate exemplary skills in teaching the political sciences. Taylor was recognized during the OPSA annual conference held Nov. 5-6.

Taylor was nominated for the award by Dr. Kenneth Hicks, Department Head and Professor of History and Political Science. Hicks said that Taylor’s classes both challenge students and encourage them to learn.

“Taylor combines the ideal attributes common to great teachers,” Hicks said. “She is dynamic, friendly, approachable, encouraging, and she has knowledge and experience of the political world that naturally inspires students’ respect.”

Taylor earned a bachelor’s in history and a master’s in political science from the University of Oklahoma before earning her doctorate in political science from Oklahoma State University. Before joining RSU in 1992, Taylor spent eight years in the Oklahoma House of Representatives and served as the chair of the Education committee.

In addition to teaching, Taylor is also a published author, having written multiple papers, articles, books and presentations. She recently contributed an essay to the book, “Children’s and YA Books in the College Classroom,” written by RSU faculty earlier this year.

The Oklahoma Political Science Association is a statewide organization of more than 200 instructors and professors in higher education who teach courses in American government. For more information, visit