RSU Pi Sigma Alpha, Phi Alpha Theta Induction Ceremony Held March 1

group photo holding certificates

Rogers State University’s chapters of Pi Sigma Alpha and Phi Alpha Theta held their induction ceremony Friday, March 1, with Oklahoma Senator and RSU alumna Ally Seifried serving as guest speaker for the event.

Phi Alpha Theta is the National History Honor Society, and Pi Sigma Alpha is the National Political Science Honor Society, to which Seifried was named an honorary member at the RSU ceremony.

Pictured from left: Dr. Michael Beauchamp (associate professor of history and political science), Dr. David Bath (assistant professor of history and political science), Dr. Kenneth Hicks (department head and professor of history and political science), Ashlyn Barney of Newcastle, John Douglas of Chelsea, Jayden Griffith of Chelsea, Kali Cavin of Skiatook, Terran Schornik of Claremore, RSU President Dr. Larry Rice, and State Senator Ally Seifried. Inductees not pictured: Tatum Brown of Vinita, Olivia Neeley of Moore, and Tanner Tairent of Collinsville.

Griffith was inducted into Phi Alpha Theta, with all other students inducted into Pi Sigma Alpha.

To qualify for induction into Pi Sigma Alpha, students must have completed 10 or more hours of political science courses, including an upper-division course, with a minimum 3.0 GPA, and must have achieved an overall GPA placing them in the top third of their class.

To be inducted into Phi Alpha Theta, undergraduates must complete a minimum of 12 semester hours in history, hold a GPA of 3.1 in history courses and 3.0 overall.

Rogers State University is a regional university serving northeastern Oklahoma and is the only four-year public residential university in the Tulsa metropolitan area.

For more information on Rogers State University, visit