RSU Phi Theta Kappa Inducts New Students, Installs Officers, Names Professor of the Year

Rogers State University’s chapter of Phi Theta Kappa recently inducted several students for the Spring 2003 semester and installed its new officers for the coming year.

Phi Theta Kappa is an international academic honor society for students enrolled in associate’s degree programs. Phi Theta Kappa has recognized academic excellence at community colleges since 1918 and has become one of the largest and most prestigious honor societies in higher education. More than 1.2 million members have been inducted in 1,200 institutions around the world. Membership is based primarily on academic achievement.

During its recent annual dinner, the honor society named Phil Sample, instructor in the Department of Social and Behavioral Sciences, as instructor of the year. A longtime instructor at RSU, Sample received a master’s degree from Northeastern (Okla.) State University and a bachelor’s degree from Wichita State University. He is a former Army officer, with service as an infantry and counterintelligence advisor, and as a counterintelligence operative and member of the General Staff of the U.S. Army South in Latin America. He is also a Civil War re-enactor, currently serving as the commander of the Frontier Brigade, which comprises units from eight states in the Midwest. He also serves as faculty advisor of the Civil War re-enactment unit on RSU’s Claremore campus.

During the banquet, the organization installed its new officers: Christine Anne Keeter of Claremore, president; Lisa Lauderdale of Claremore, vice president; Rita Susanne Steinhart of Bartlesville, Bartlesville vice president; Christy Ann Peters of Pryor, Pryor vice president; Island SpottedBear of Claremore, secretary; Cheryel Dawn Graham of Claremore, treasurer; Jaime Lynn Epperson of Langley, Okla., historian; Mary Margaret Ross of Skiatook, vice president of leadership; Nichole Moore of Claremore, vice president of scholarship; and Helen C. Horton of Hominy and Kara Andrews of Catoosa, Student Government Association representatives.

Outgoing officers were Emily Thomas of Chouteau, president; Keeter, vice president; Meredith Walker, secretary; Paula Littlejohn, treasurer and John Martin, SGA representative.

New members of RSU’s chapter of Phi Theta Kappa include the following students, listed by their hometowns.

  • Adair: Melodie A. Ritter, Kim O. Whiteside;
  • Bartlesville: Pam Kay Pearsall, Rita Susanne Steinhart, Rebecca Stumpff, Mary Beth Washington;
  • Big Cabin: Danna Sue Brachtenbach, Denise Annaletta Paine;
  • Braggs: Emily Anne Meeks;
  • Broken Arrow: Sheldon L. Dillingham, Dennis Lloyd Hill, Iva Sue Osborn, Ashley Renee Smoots;
  • Catoosa: Kara Jean-Marie Andrews, Piper Hannah Reeder, Travis Dean Ring;
  • Chelsea: Amber Marie Asher, Marietta Lee May;
  • Chouteau: Amber Dodson, Robert Dustin Vanderford;
  • Claremore: Shannon Kay Arnold, Brandi Nicole Bennett, Elizabeth Michelle Desko, Annie Marie Drewry, Charity Lynn Emanuel, Cheryel Dawn Graham, Kyle Anthony Hickman, Stephanie A. S. Hines, Lennon J. Kirkendall, Mora Ann Kollman, Kevin Barry McLaughlin, Candy Lynn Morgan, Eduardo Alexis Murillo Sr., Kealy Marie Ostrom, Jody Sue Roses, Island  SpottedBear, Ashley Michelle Watts, Sarah Diane Winzenburg;
  • Collinsville: Melissa Sue Clow;
  • Hominy: Helen C. Horton, Kerri Anne Horton;
  • Locust Grove: Bryce Wayne Bates;
  • Okmulgee: Sally Ann VanStraten;
  • Oologah: Kathryn Dianne Troutt;
  • Owasso: Cara Elaine Beasley, Priscilla Lenora Coop, Jessica Renea Smith;
  • Pawhuska: Tara Kay Rabb, Judy C Re;
  • Pryor: Chris Alan Carlson, Jerri Dawn Dennis, Cherokee Nichole Moore, Patricia J. Ogg, Christy Ann Peters;
  • Skiatook: Mary Margaret Ross;
  • Tahlequah: Rachel Dale Jones;
  • Tulsa: ReAnne Michelle Ashlock, Susan Kathleen Brezina, Shawna Leigh Washington; Vinita: Jamie Lynn Epperson; and
  • Wagoner: Kathy Ann Wolfe.