RSU Names Dean of School of Liberal Arts

Dr. Frank W. Elwell has been named Dean of the School of Liberal Arts at Rogers State University.

The appointment of Elwell as Dean was approved by the University of Oklahoma Board of Regents, RSU’s governing board, at its regular meeting on Wednesday, March 29.

Elwell will be the first Dean of one of RSU’s three academic schools as it makes the transition to a four-year baccalaureate degree granting university.

RSU presently is conducting searches for Dean of the School of Business and Technology and Dean of the School of Mathematics, Science, and Health Science.

RSU’s School of Liberal Arts includes the Department of Communications and Fine Arts and the Department of Social and Behavioral Sciences.

Previously, Elwell served as Professor and Chairman of the Department of Sociology, Anthropology, and Social Work at Murray State University in Murray, Kentucky.

He also has served as a Visiting Professor at the University of Southern Queensland in Australia. In addition, he served in a variety of teaching and administrative positions at Murray State University.

His areas of academic specialty include social evolution, industrialization, cultural ecology and social theory. He also has extensive experience in utilizing technology in the classroom, including the development of online classes, construction of class web pages, classroom presentation programs and data analysis presentation programs.

He received a doctoral degree from the State University of New York (SUNY) at Albany, master’s degrees from SUNY-Albany and SUNY-New Paltz, and a bachelor’s degree from Eastern Michigan University.