RSU Faculty, Staff Leadership Selected

Rogers State University’s faculty and staff representative organizations have selected leadership for the coming academic year.

Dr. Frank Elwell, Professor in the Department of Psychology and Sociology, was elected last week as chair of the Faculty Senate and Kyla Short, Director of Residential Life, was elected as incoming chair of the Staff Advisory Council. Both organizations represent their constituent groups in matters related to university governance and were elected by a vote of their peers.

Other Faculty Senate positions determined during last week’s vote were: Dr. Kevin Woller from the Department of Psychology and Sociology as Vice Chair; Amy Richards from the Department of Health Sciences as Secretary; Dr. Marla Smith from the Department of Health Sciences as Treasurer; and Dr. Sally Emmons from the Department of English and Humanities as Parliamentarian. The Faculty Senate officers will assume their leadership roles on June 1.

For the Staff Advisory Council, the spring elections determined the incoming chair and the 15 representatives for the 2018-19 academic year. Its leadership will be selected when the group meets this fall.

The university administration extended its thanks to the outgoing Faculty Senate Chair Dr. Steve Housel from the Department of History and Political Science and outgoing Staff Advisory Council Chair Paul Dunham from the Physical Plant.