RSU Communication Students Receive Broadcasting Awards

Three Rogers State University communication students recently received awards from the Oklahoma Association of Broadcasters (OAB).

Candace Nivision of Tulsa, Chris Anderson of Claremore and Sean Webster of Claremore were honored at the annual OAB convention held in Tulsa.

Nivision was one of five students in Oklahoma to be awarded a scholarship at the event. She received the $2,000 Sadie Adwon scholarship, named for one of the first Oklahoma female radio journalists. To be eligible for the Sadie Adwon scholarship, students must meet academic qualifications and plan on entering the broadcasting field after graduation.

Webster received second place for his radio spot titled “RSU Radio Appreciation Promo” and Anderson received third place in radio sports coverage for his all-sports talk show titled “Outside the Lines,” which can be heard on RSU Radio, KRSC FM 91.3. Both Webster and Anderson also received awards at last year’s OAB convention.

Each year, the OAB works with the Oklahoma Broadcast Education Association to promote quality broadcasting education and the professional preparation of students.

“I am very pleased that our students continue to fare so well in this high-profile statewide competition.” said Cathy Coomer, RSU instructor. “Each year, our broadcasting students receive scholarships and awards, competing against 17 other colleges and universities in the state.” 

For more information about the RSU broadcasting program, contact the RSU Department of Communications and Fine Arts at (918) 343-7740.