RSU Announces Recipients of Faculty Senate Awards

Rogers State University announced the recipients of its Faculty Senate recognition awards for the 2019-2020 academic year. Eight RSU faculty members were honored for excellence in teaching, scholarship and research, and service. Recipients receive a certificate, medallion and a cash stipend.

In the School of Arts and Sciences, Mr. Bruce Hartley, instructor of communications, and Dr. Kathleen Kennedy, adjunct instructor in the department of psychology and sociology, received Gladys L. and Carl G. Herrington Excellence in Teaching awards. Also from the Herrington endowment, Dr. Lori O’Malley, assistant professor of psychology and sociology, received the Excellence in Scholarship and Research, while Ms. Christi Mackey, instructor of psychology and sociology, received the Excellence in Service award.

In the School of Professional Studies, Mr. Chris Ruhl, instructor of technology, and Ms. Ronna Hatley, adjunct instructor in the department of business, each received Pfizer Excellence in Teaching awards. Dr. Heba Eldoumi, assistant professor of nutrition, received the Pfizer Excellence award in Scholarship and Research. Dr. Marla Smith, associate professor of nursing, received the Pfizer Excellence in Service award.

In addition to the Pfizer service award, Dr. Smith garnered the Pixley Excellence in Education Award. The Pixley award recipient is selected by peer nomination, and is the highest honor bestowed upon an RSU faculty member. It was presented to Dr. Smith at RSU’s virtual commencement ceremony.

“I feel privileged to receive such an honor from my colleagues. I sincerely hope that I am an example for others to create their vision for RSU,” Smith said.

Dr. Smith has been instrumental in the development of RSU’s online RN2BSN degree program. The coursework enables students who have an associate degree in nursing to earn a bachelor’s degree while working full time, thus better serving the needs of working professionals.