Judge Claire Eagan to Receive RSU Constitution Day Award

The Honorable Claire V. Eagan, United States District Judge for the Northern District of Oklahoma, will be named the recipient of the Rogers State University Constitution Award at a ceremony and luncheon on Tuesday, September 18, 2012.

The ceremony and luncheon will be held at noon in the Ballroom of the Centennial Center on RSU’s Claremore Campus, 1701 W. Will Rogers Blvd. Area high school students also have been invited to participate in the event.

Each fall since 1987, RSU has presented the Constitution Award to an Oklahoman who has demonstrated a strong commitment to the principles of the U.S. Constitution through his or her life’s work. The RSU Constitution Award was established in commemoration of the 200th anniversary of the adoption of the U.S. Constitution.

“We are proud and honored to present Judge Eagan with this distinguished award,” said RSU President Dr. Larry Rice. “She has distinguished herself both from the bench and as an educator, and she has been a diligent guardian of the principles of the U.S. Constitution.”

Past recipients of the RSU Constitution Award include for U.S. District Judge Joseph W. Morris, Senior Judge Stephanie K. Seymour, Chief Judge Robert Henry, Gov. Frank Keating, Judge Lee R. West, U.S. Rep. Lyle Boren, Judge Fred Daugherty, Chief Ross Swimmer, U.S. Speaker Carl Albert, Judge William J. Holloway, Jr., Jenkin Lloyd Jones, Gov. Henry Bellmon, Ada Lois Sipuel Fisher, Mayor Patience Latting, Justice Marian P. Opala, Sen. David Boren, Hannah Diggs Atkins, Joint Chiefs Chairman William J. Crowe, Jr., Judge James O. Ellison, Alex Adwan, Judge Thomas R. Brett, G.T. Blankenship, Sen. Charles Ford, Sen. Penny Williams, Sen. Anthony Massad and Gov. George Nigh.

Judge Eagan was appointed in 2001 by President George W. Bush as the first female United States District Judge for the Northern District of Oklahoma, where she served as Chief Judge from 2005 to 2012. She was appointed Chair of the Judicial Conference of the United States Committee on Defender Services for 2008-2012. Judge Eagan served as the first full-time female United States Magistrate Judge in the District from 1998 to 2001, presiding over civil and criminal trials, pretrial matters, and the court’s alternative dispute resolution (ADR) program. She graduated cum laude both from Trinity College, Washington, D.C. in 1972, and Fordham University School of Law in 1976.

In 1978, she was employed first as an associate and thereafter as the first female shareholder, director, and executive committee member at Hall, Estill, Hardwick, Gable, Golden & Nelson, P.C. in Tulsa until her appointment as a magistrate judge. Her private practice focused on business litigation, primarily in the areas of securities, telecommunications, and environmental and employment law. Judge Eagan has an extensive record of service to the Oklahoma courts and bar associations. She also has taught constitutional law, appellate practice, and ADR at the University of Tulsa College of Law, where she also has offered a practicum to TU law students in federal criminal defense. Her past and present community activities include the Oklahoma Medical Research Foundation, Catholic Charities, United Way, Junior League, and the Catholic Diocese of Tulsa.

Sponsors for Constitution Day include:

Freedom Sponsors: Mr. and Mrs. Jim Morrison and Pelco Structural, LLC.

Stars and Stripes Sponsors: Mr. and Mrs. G.T. Blankenship, The Honorable and Mrs. Thomas Brett, Lafarge North America and The Honorable and Mrs. Joseph Morris

Liberty Sponsors: Mr. and Mrs. Alex Adwan; Mr. and Mrs. P. Mitch Adwon; AT&T; Mr. and Mrs. Ron Boyle; The Honorable and Mrs. James Ellison; Dr. and Mrs. Larry Rice; The Honorable Stephanie Seymour and Mr. Thomas Seymour; Mr. and Mrs. Ross Swimmer; Taylor, Burrage Law Firm; Kathy Taylor; The Honorable and Mrs. Lee West ; and Senator Penny Williams.

Additional sponsors include: Mr. and Mrs. Charlie Bowerman; Mr. and Mrs. Pat Cremin; Mr. and Mrs. David Deffenbaugh; Senator and Mrs. Charles Ford; Mr. and Mrs. Steve Housel; W.R. and Judy Howell; Mr. and Mrs. Winthrop Ingersoll; Mrs. Naomi Lynch; and Mrs. Pat Reeder.

For more information on the RSU Constitution Award and Luncheon, contact the RSU Foundation at 918-343-7767.