Inhofe to Receive RSU Constitution Award Nov. 12

Jim Inhofe U.S. Senator Jim Inhofe will be honored for upholding the principles of the U.S. Constitution through a lifetime of public service when he receives the Rogers State University Constitution Award during a November 12 ceremony and luncheon on RSU’s Claremore campus.

Inhofe is the senior United States Senator from Oklahoma, a seat he was first elected to in 1994. A member of the Republican Party, he is the ranking member of the Armed Services Committee, chaired the U.S. Senate Committee on Environment and Public Works from 2003 to 2007 and again from 2015 to 2017. Inhofe served as the U.S. Representative for Oklahoma’s first congressional district from 1987 to 1994 and as mayor of Tulsa from 1978 to 1984.

Former Air Force officer and NASA astronaut Lieutenant General Thomas P. Stafford, USAF (Ret.) is scheduled to introduce Inhofe during the luncheon, which will feature remarks from the honoree.

Tickets are $50 per person, with sponsorship opportunities also available to support college students attending the luncheon, as well as provide scholarships for RSU students of active-duty U.S. service members. The luncheon will take place at 12 p.m. in the ballroom of the Dr. Carolyn Taylor Center.

Since 1987, RSU has presented the Constitution Award to an Oklahoman who has demonstrated a strong commitment to the principles of the U.S. Constitution through his or her life’s work. The RSU Constitution Award was established in commemoration of the 200th anniversary of the adoption of the U.S. Constitution.

The Constitution Award recipient is selected by the RSU Constitution Award Board of Governors, which includes past honorees along with RSU President Dr. Larry Rice, P. Mitchell Adwon, James H. Morrison, and Oklahoma Military Academy Alumni Association Executive Director Dr. Danette Boyle.

Past recipients of the RSU Constitution Award include Louis W. Bullock, former Ambassador James Jones, U.S. District Judge David Russell, U.S. District Judge Claire Eagan, U.S. District Judge Joseph W. Morris, Senior Judge Stephanie K. Seymour, Chief Judge Robert Henry, Gov. Frank Keating, Judge Lee R. West, U.S. Rep. Lyle Boren, Judge Fred Daugherty, Chief Ross Swimmer, U.S. Speaker Carl Albert, Judge William J. Holloway, Jr., Jenkin Lloyd Jones, Gov. Henry Bellmon, Ada Lois Sipuel Fisher, Mayor Patience Latting, Justice Marian P. Opala, Sen. David Boren, Hannah Diggs Atkins, Joint Chiefs Chairman William J. Crowe, Jr., Judge James O. Ellison, Alex Adwan, Judge Thomas R. Brett, G.T. Blankenship, Sen. Charles Ford, Sen. Penny Williams, Gen. Dennis Reimer, Mickey Edwards, Sen. Anthony Massad and Gov. George Nigh.

For more information or to purchase tickets, contact Dr. Danette Boyle at [email protected] or 918-343-6888.