Faculty Appellate Committee Minutes August 23, 2019

Committee convened at 10 a.m. in BH 216.

Present were Dr. Frank Elwell, Dr. Marla Smith, Dr. David Johnk, Dr. Emily Dial-Driver.

Absent were Dr. Kirk Voska and Dr. Diana Clayton.

Committee description from "Academic Policies and Procedures Manual," as amended:

"Function: Hear appeals from faculty members 1) whose application for promotion has been disapproved by the Vice President for Academic Affairs, or 2) who believe that tenure procedures were violated or 3) who appeal a pending severe sanction. The recommendation of the committee will be based on majority vote. The committee chair will have the right to vote only in order to break a tie.

"Membership: Seven tenured faculty members, with at least three from each School, appointed by the Faculty Senate.

"Recommendations: To the Vice President for Academic Affairs."

Discussion

The committee has only six members.

The committee needs a chair.

The committee needs a secretary.

The list of committees on the website under "Committees" is incomplete as the Faculty Appellate Committee is not listed. In addition the list of committee members is out of date.

Minutes are to be sent to Mr. Curtis Sparling.

Initial minutes should include the committee description, as found in "APPM."

Actions

Since the committee at present has only six members, Dr. Elwell will inform the Faculty Senate of the need for an additional member.

Dr. Marla Smith was elected committee chair by acclamation.

Dr. Dial-Driver will serve as secretary.

Dr. Elwell will inform Mr. Sparling of website problems.

Minutes will be approved by members and then sent to Mr. Sparling.

Submitted by Emily Dial-Driver, August 23, 2019