June 15, 2011

RSU Public Television Nominated for Three Heartland Emmy Awards

RSU Public Television has been nominated for three Heartland Emmy Awards.

The station's recent documentary "Will Rogers and American Politics" has been nominated in the category of historical documentary and for program editor, and its program "Woodturning Workshop with Tim Yoder" has been nominated in the informational-instruction program category.

The awards will be announced on July 23 at ceremonies in Oklahoma City and Denver.

"Will Rogers and American Politics" is an in-depth look at how a rope twirling, plain talking Cherokee cowboy became one of the most powerful political voices in America.

The production highlights Rogers' influence and political power as revealed through the eyes and words of great Americans such as Supreme Court Justice Sandra Day O'Connor, Mickey Rooney, Cherokee Chief Chad Smith, comedian Lewis Black and many others.

The documentary is the culmination of 18 months of dedicated work by RSU Public Television, one of the smallest public television stations in the nation.

Hours of rare archival film footage, 15,000 photos and 18,000 documents were carefully analyzed and screened with the most appropriate and poignant being incorporated into the production.

The production team traveled to Pennsylvania, Arizona, California, Louisiana, and across Oklahoma to interview individuals with ties to or special knowledge of Will Rogers. Bill Kurtis, award-winning producer and journalist, narrated the documentary.

"Woodturning Workshop" is an award-winning how-to program on the craft of woodturning. Hosted, produced and edited by Tim Yoder, the program has been seen in over 90 percent of the nation on public television. Along with director and photographer Bryan Crain, 65 thirty-minute episodes have been produced.

Founded in 1947, the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences and the Emmy Award stand for the best in the television industry. The national academy is the only non-profit organization dedicated to recognizing outstanding achievement, raising industry standards, and improving the quality of television. Its dedication to excellence is pursued every day by members of its 19 chapters across the country.

The Heartland chapter was formed in 1986 to meet eligibility standards of the National Academy's national board, and serves the television industry in these markets: Denver, Oklahoma City, Tulsa, Wichita-Hutchinson, Kan., Omaha, Neb., Colorado Springs-Pueblo, Colo., Lincoln-Hastings-Kearney, Neb., Topeka, Kan., Grand Junction-Montrose, Colo., and Cheyenne, Wyo.-Scottsbluff and North Platte, Neb.

RSU Public Television is licensed to Rogers State University and is the only public TV station operated by a university in Oklahoma. The station, based on the RSU campus in Claremore, reaches more than one million people within a 75-mile radius of the campus.

RSU Public Television broadcasts on digital channel 35.1 and 35.2, Tulsa and Claremore cable channel 19, Cable Channel 4 in Bartlesville and satellite channel 35 across northeastern Oklahoma.

More information is available by visiting