May 6, 2009

Alpha Chi Honor Society Students Named at RSU

Rogers State University's chapter of the Alpha Chi honor society recently selected 47 students for membership in the organization. New student members to the Oklahoma Iota chapter were honored at a recent induction ceremony.

Membership in Alpha Chi, which is a national academic honor society open to all disciplines, is limited to the top 10 percent of an institution's juniors and seniors and is by invitation only. The society was founded in 1922 and has more than 300 chapters. RSU's chapter was added in Spring of 2006. A total of 135 students have been inducted from Rogers State during the past four years. The name Alpha Chi derives from Greek words for Truth and Character.

"This is a great honor for our students. Alpha Chi recognizes and promotes scholarship and academic achievement, and these students fully deserve this recognition," said Dr. Jim Ford, director of RSU Honors Program and Alpha Chi advisor. "The primary role of Alpha Chi is to recognize the academic accomplishments of these students. But the organization also offers a number of scholarships, supports student presentations at regional and national conferences, and offers a variety of opportunities for academic and community enrichment"

The new Alpha Chi members major in a wide range of subjects and have diverse personal backgrounds, and intellectual experiences, Ford said.

Students recently selected for Alpha Chi, listed alphabetically, include:

  • Adair: Brian Lunk
  • Atoka: Victoria Townsend
  • Bartlesville: Carrie Neff
  • Blair: Cody Owens
  • Catoosa: Kayla Welch
  • Claremore: Kaylee Babin, Darryl Ball, Donald Becker, Jaime Lynn Clark, Leslie Clarke, Emily Frost, Sara Fultz, Ronna Hatley, Tiana Nichols, Mia Pratte, Allison Rothermel, Zachary Stoycoff
  • Choteau: Meagan M. Edmonds
  • Delaware: Matt Jobe
  • Dewey: Jolly Rohrs
  • Duncan: Karon Hawkins
  • Elk City: Desiree Mitchell
  • Glen Allen, VA.: Patrick Linzer
  • Inola: Jeremy Landsaw, Hailey McKewon
  • Locust Grove: Mae Lina Donikowski
  • Nowata: Zachary Allen, Lanaye Borden
  • Oologah: Marcella Ramsey
  • Owasso: Kaitlin E. Bryan, Ashley Dick, Joshua Lee, Paul Turner, Charissa Young
  • Pryor: Steven Decoster, Kendra Lemons, Cayla Spears, Rebecca Wilsie
  • Sapulpa: Kathy Irwin
  • Tulsa: Travis Clark, Ray Gooldy, Cristi Richardville, Rebecca Thrun, Jessica Williams
  • Sallisaw: Ravonda Bethel
  • Vinita: Shelly Wilson