May 16, 2006

RSU Selects President's Leadership Class Members

Rogers State University has selected 17 students from across Oklahoma to join its President's Leadership Class (PLC), a four-year scholarship program to develop student leadership skills.

"The President's Leadership Class is a program designed to identify outstanding students, foster their intellectual growth, and refine their leadership skills," said RSU President Dr. Joe Wiley.

Dr. Carolyn Taylor, RSU strategic initiatives coordinator and assistant professor in the Department of Social and Behavioral Sciences, serves as the PLC faculty advisor.

Each class member will work closely with student groups and university administration to enhance services to students and the community, Taylor said. Responsibilities of PLC members include volunteering for campus service projects, being active members of student organizations, attending selected RSU alumni programs and RSU Foundation events, and visiting selected high schools with RSU recruiters.

Students selected for the PLC will receive a $3,500 annual scholarship, and the RSU Foundation has been instrumental in securing funding for this leadership initiative. PLC members were selected during a competitive process that included an on-campus interview with campus representatives. 

The incoming PLC class includes the following students:

  • Paula R. Blalock, Pryor High School, daughter of Debra Martin of Pryor;
  • David William Brixey, Chandler High School, son of Sam and Kelley Brixey of Chandler;
  • Brandi Lynn Burk, Oilton High School, daughter of John and LaDonna Burk of Oilton;
  • Jon Davis, Oktaha High School, son of Glen Davis and Jan Davis, both of Muskogee;
  • Heather Hughey, Broken Arrow High School, daughter of  Jeff Hughey and Tammy Hughey, both of Broken Arrow;
  • Meghan Jones, Pryor High School, daughter of Ron and Belinda Jones of Pryor;
  • Cheyanne Rae Keith, Oologah High School, daughter of Kelly and Reggie Keith of Oologah;
  • Daina Lynn Kuehn, Oklahoma Union High School, daughter of Jim and Anna Kuehn of South Coffeyville;
  • Ashley Lewis, Tahlequah High School, daughter of John and Cheryl Lewis of Peggs;
  • Shana Lindsey, Inola High School, daughter of David and Dana Lindsey of Inola;
  • Adam G. McCreary, Talala, Oologah-Talala High School, son of Rodney and Lori McCreary;
  • Chad McMains, Oologah High School, son of Jeff McMains of Tulsa and Dan and Debi Lambert of Oologah;
  • Brian Richmond, Collinsville High School, son of Laura Richmond and Doug Richmond, both of Collinsville;
  • Jessica Alice Sanderson, Dewey High School, daughter of John Sanderson of Bartlesville and JoEllen Sanderson of Bartlesville;
  • Justin Tascier, Prague High School, son of Allen and Janice Tascier of Prague;
  • Amy Ward, Skiatook High School, daughter of Jerry and Susan Ward of Skiatook; and
  • Jason Wayne, Oklahoma Union High School, son of Michael and Terri Wayne of Wann.

For more information on the PLC, please contact the RSU Office of Enrollment Management at (918) 343-7545.