May 20, 2005

RSU Names Inaugural President’s Leadership Class

Rogers State University has selected eight students to participate in its inaugural President’s Leadership Class (PLC), a four-year scholarship program to develop student leadership skills.

“The President’s Leadership Class is a unique, four-year program designed to identify a limited number of outstanding students in order to foster their intellectual growth, refine their leadership skills and enhance their relationship with RSU and the communities it serves,” said RSU President Dr. Joe Wiley.

Dr. Carolyn Taylor, RSU strategic initiatives coordinator and assistant professor in the Department of Social and Behavioral Sciences, will serve as the PLC faculty advisor.

Each class member will work closely with student groups and university administration to enhance services to students and the community, Taylor said. Responsibilities of PLC members include volunteering for campus service projects, being active members of student organizations, attending selected RSU Alumni programs and RSU Foundation events, and visiting selected high schools with RSU recruiters.

Students selected for the PLC will receive a $3,500 annual scholarship, and the RSU Foundation has been instrumental in securing funding for this leadership initiative. PLC members were selected during a competitive process that included an on-campus interview with campus representatives. 

The inaugural PLC class includes the following students, listed by their hometowns:

Elk City

Desiree Mitchell, 2005 graduate of Elk City High School, daughter of Rebecca Mitchell of Elk City.


William “Trapper” Charboneau, 2005 graduate of Jay High School, son of Janie Hargis of Grove and Kevin Charboneau of Muskogee.


Rebecca Reed, 2005 graduate of Hominy High School, daughter of Eddie and Terri Reed of Hominy.


Aeriole Radcliff, 2005 graduate of Nowata High School, daughter of Michelle and Greg Radcliff of Nowata.


Lesli Nichole Blackburn, 2005 graduate of Sallisaw Central High School, daughter of Jeff Blackburn and Diana Blackburn, both of Sallisaw.


Bree Bedsworth, 2005 graduate of Skiatook High School, daughter of William and Chrisie Bedsworth of Skiatook.


Lindsay Thornton, 2005 graduate of Oklahoma Union High School, daughter of Tim and Tammy Thornton of Wann.

Kaleb Woolever, 2005 graduate of Oklahoma Union High School, son of Keith and Debra Woolever of Wann.

“The inaugural PLC class consists of students with a wide range of ideals and talents who are encouraged to work and learn together to further foster and develop their leadership traits,” Taylor said. “They are united in their commitment to the pursuit of excellence and to the cultivation of their talents for service.”

For more information on the PLC, please contact the RSU Office of Enrollment Management at (918) 343-7545.